top of page

Flour Barn Update....

I haven't done an update on the business post for well.... probably never. So, I thought it was time.

1. The biggest and best change is my part time help (Krissa), graduated and is now full-time (Yeah!!) And yes, she might put in more hours than me:/ She can do just about anything....but refuses to answer the phone (She a background sort of gal:) Also, for the summer we added two more part time help for farmers market ( more info below:) and to fill in for vacations. Or if I just want a break (I am the boss I can do that, right??), need to get house work done, run errands, or stop the kids from fighting.

2. Farmers Market: Starting the first week of June, every Thursday (4:30-7) we have been going to the Jefferson Street Farmers Market in Burlington, IA. This has been a great experience for us and we look forward to seeing new customers and returning customers every week!! We also plan on go to Market on Main in Mt. Pleasant, IA starting on July 2nd from 4:30-6:30. If this goes well for us we plan on being there every Tuesday.

3. Cookies for Sprat's: So for those of you that have not heard of Sprats Soft Serve you are missing out. They have the best ice cream I have ever had, with the best prices to go with it!!! So last year we started making cookies for ice cream sandwiches for them. And this year we started doing a flavor of the month. I love coming up with different cookie ideas. They always carry the standard chocolate chip, but we have made sugar, mint chocolate, chocolate peanut....and there is more to come.

4. Cakes: Wow, I am so thankful for the outpouring of love on the cakes!! And I would love to be able to serve every single cake order that comes in, but reality is I can't. I have learned so much when it comes to decorating (have a ton more to learn) and the number one thing I learned is....cakes take a lot of time!!! So, feel free to book month in advance. Just a reminder: I DO NOT make wedding cakes!!!

So, we might have a few more things up our sleeves, but will wait until we know for sure what the plans are before we throw the ideas out!!! Trust me the ideas never stop coming:)

So a note from the boss (me:)

Thank you all so much for the unending support!! We would not have a business at all if it wasn't for the customers. I feel very blessed to get to do what I do everyday. Yes, its a lot of work. Yes, sometimes we wonder how we are going to fit it all in. Yes, it can be overwhelming sometimes! But yes, I love it. And yes, I love working with my customers. And yes, I love the challenge of running a business. So once again thank you from the bottom of my heart!!!

With love, Kelli and the baking crew

Photo credits: bhivebranding


bottom of page