top of page

What's Cakin'- Sprat's Soft Serve

I am so excited to feature Sprat's Soft Serve this month. I don't know about the rest of you, but I have long been awaiting the reopening of Sprat's. Seriously, if you haven't tried this place out... What are you waiting for?!?! They have the BEST ice cream in the area and the food is awesome too!!

So, yes pictured below is a CAKE!!!! But if you want a real tenderloin, cheese balls, and ice cream cone...you will need to stop at Sprats!

When did you start your business?

I started planning my business in September of 2017. I worked all winter long to remodel the building, find equipment, and make my dreams a reality. Sprat's officially opened for business on May 26th 2018.

Why did you start the business?

Starting my business is kind of a long story, but to make it short, the building was going to be vacant and nobody wanted to see that happen. One day I was talking with some people and we all wondered what the building could possibly be turned into. Multiple ideas were thrown around, but the fan favorite was an ice cream shop. At the time I was fresh out of college and hadn't found my lifelong career yet, so I started looking more into the idea and the rest is pretty much history.

Tell us a little about Sprats.

Sprat's is a soft serve ice cream shop that serves a limited food menu. We have all sorts of sweet treats including cones, shakes, ice cream sandwiches and much, much more. As the Sprat's owner (Jaci Steffner), I get a lot of thanks for bringing ice cream back to Mediapolis, but I definitely cannot take all the credit. I could not do it without my family. From laying the flooring, pouring the concrete, and building the awning to making maid-rites, stepping in to take shifts, and so much more.

Another huge thank you goes out to my friends who have stepped in to help with the same tasks and for understanding when I'm tied up at work. And last but not least, the community for showing so much support. Sprat's would not be what it is today without all of you.

Sprat's hours are Monday through Saturday 11am-9pm and Sundays 3pm-9pm.

I think I can speak for most of the area people, and Say THANK YOU JACI for bringing ICE CREAM back to Mepo!!!

Until the next What's Cakin'.........


bottom of page